India Post has released a new definitive stamp on former PM Atal Bihari Vajpeyee under Makers of India series. Atal Bihari Vajpeyee  served three terms as the  Prime Minister of India: first for a term of 13 days in 1996, then for a period of 13 months from 1998 to 1999, and finally, for a full term from 1999 to 2004. He was a member of the Parliament   for over four decades. In 1977 Vajpeyee became the  Minister of External Affairs .He resigned in 1979, and the Janata alliance collapsed soon after. The erstwhile members of the BJS formed the BJP in 1980, with Vajpayee as its first president.

During his tenure as prime minister, India carried out the Pokran II nuclear tests in 1998. Vajpeyee sought to improve diplomatic relations with Pakistan by bus to meet with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. He was conferred India’s highest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna in 2015.

Related Posts with Thumbnails Source: View original article

Leave a Reply